EN / DE
© Turtle Island 2022

Our team

Together with our international network of partner organisations and supporters, we are working to save the most endangered vertebrate group on our planet – turtles. Our team consists of a large number of experts who deal with all topics related to conservation as well as keeping of endangered turtles.

EXECUTIVE BOARD | MANAGEMENT

Dr. Peter Praschag, PhD
Founder Turtle Island, Chair

After he received his degree in Biology and Zoology, Peter founded the conservation and breeding institution Turtle Island, together with his father Reiner. Next to his duties as a turtle-breeder and conservator, he supports various ORF UNIVERSUM TV productions as a scientific advisor. Furthermore, he is a sworn and court-certified expert for biology (keeping and breeding of zoo animals) and a member of the Freshwater Turtle and Tortoise Specialist Group/IUCN, the Field Conservation Committee, and a scientific consultant at the Turtle Survival Alliance (TSA). He serves as Vice-President of Turtle Island Corporation, a U.S.A based nonprofit with 501(c)(3) status.

DI Dr. Reiner Praschag
Founder Turtle Island, Chair

Reiner and his son Peter turned their family hobby into careers, as they launched the Turtle Island foundation. As a sworn and court-certified expert for Structural Engineering and Zoology as well as a CITES-Assessor for species conservation, within 40 years they managed to establish one of the greatest and most important turtle collections worldwide with more than 200 different species. Many of these species are endangered in the wild and depend on their life at Turtle Island to ensure their survival on the planet.

Dr. Shannon Diruzzo
Veterinarian, Chair

After working as a small animal and zoo veterinarian in Alaska for over 10 years, Shannon joined Turtle Island. Since 2011, she has been busy working for Turtle Island and various other international turtle conservation projects combining veterinary medicine with the conservation of nature, further supporting her lifelong engagement in the protection and pursuit of wellbeing for all animals. She is also a desert tortoise (Gopherus agassizii) conservation biologist for solar energy projects and the US military in California and Nevada.  In 2018, she founded and is the President of Turtle Island Corporation, a U.S.A. based nonprofit with 501(c)(3) status.  She is a member of the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Amphibian- und Reptilienkrankheiten (AG ARK)  and Deutsche Gesellschaft fuer Herpetologie und Terrarienkunde (DGHT).

Torsten Blanck
Chair

Conservation breeding, biological classification, and field studies in Eastern Asia, focusing on the highly endangered Asian Box Turtle, Cuora, form the foundation of Torsten’s studies. His research has included every type of East Asian Box Turtle. Currently, he is deeply involved in investigating the Cuora zhoui, which was recognized in 1990, but never observed in the wild. Torsten maintains the ESF (European Studbook Foundation) studbook for the Cuora trifasciata and Cuora cyclornata, and is also a member of the IUCN TFTSG, the Turtle Survival Alliance, (Field Conservation Committee) and other turtle organisations.

Dr. Alexander Olek, PhD
Chair

As a Biochemist and Mathematician, Alexander is a patent holder and author of various high-ranking academic publications, and was nominated as Entrepreneur of the Year in 2001. Currently, he is working on an innovative concept, which enables him to detect the genetic fingerprints for all higher-living creatures with a single test. The test determines whether animals are wild or captive-bred. Through his collaboration with Turtle Island, he provides technical and scientific skills as well as general knowledge. Alexander is a board member of Turtle Island Corporation, a U.S.A. based nonprofit with 501(c)(3) status.

Anita Pfeffinger, MS (FH)
Marketing-Management and Organization

Anita has been part of the Turtle Island team since 2021 and is responsible for Marketing and Public Relations as well as other organizational, financial, and personnel tasks. She has a degree in International Marketing with a focus on Media- and Event Management and has known Peter for more than 20 years, having previously collaborated on various international blue-chip UNIVERSUM TV documentaries, while serving as head of production.

Animal Care

Madeleine Wheatley, MSc
Zoologist, Zoo Registrar, Head Keeper

With a BSc in Zoology and an MSc in Conservation Biology, Maddy has a passion for wildlife protection. She has previously interned with the Centre for Research and Conservation at Antwerp Zoo, and completed her Master’s thesis on the Spatial Ecology of African rodents following three months of research in Tanzania. She greatly enjoys field work and has had the opportunity to pursue diverse projects across Europe and Asia. Maddy joined Turtle Island in 2020 and now works closely with our international, interdisciplinary team. Together with Peter Praschag, Maddy maintains Turtle Island's studbooks.

Lisa Marschnig
Animal Keeper

When Lisa was 11 years old, she received her first turtle from Turtle Island’s founder, Peter, himself. Currently, she has completed training in Zookeeping and keeps the animals on a day-to-day basis with great care.  

Jasmin Ben Ali
Apprentice Animal Care

Since the age of 12, Jasmin has been actively involved in animal and species conservation and has spent much of her free time volunteering at animal shelters. Since December 2021, she has apprenticed as an animal keeper at Turtle Island.

Christina Weisser
Animal Keeper

Next to her Biology studies, Christina enjoys working part-time as a Turtle Island Animal Keeper. One of her favorite activities is feeding the offspring and gathering knowledge about the breeding behavior of mature turtles.

Barbara Ranner
Animal Keeper

Barbara studies Biology, while simultaneously working at Turtle Island as an Animal Keeper. Through her work, she strives to contribute to the protection and conservation of endangered species.

Elena Gaumberger
Animal Keeper

Elena studies biology at the KF University of Graz. Since childhood she has a special feeling for animals and she loves to work with different species. In her job at Turtle Island she really appreciates that she can work in all areas and that this allows her to acquire new and extensive knowledge.

VOLUNTEERS

Franz Hödl
Volunteer

As a former employee of the Botanical Garden in Graz, Franz knows what it takes to keep things intact. At Turtle Island, he oversees all technical concerns and is our specialist in filtration, pumping technology, and heating.

Monika Magnes-Reiser
Volunteer

Monika had first heard of Turtle Island when she was looking for a new home for her turtle, Paul. Ever since she retired from her former job, she has volunteered whenever she is needed and has become a specialist in feeding and food/diet preparation.

Andrea Bäckenberger
Volunteer

Andrea is keenly interested in the preservation of species and had come to Turtle Island through an internship program. Though she has completed her internship, she couldn’t bear to part from these magnificent turtles. Thus, she continues to volunteer wherever she is needed. 

Susanne Muhry
Volunteer

In addition to her job as a bank assistant, Susanne volunteers at Turtle Island. She greatly enjoys the diversion and satisfaction that comes from her contribution to the preservation of various and endangered species.

INTERNATIONAL PROJECTS

Dr. Brian D. Horne, PhD
Zoologist

Turtles of all kinds have been Brian’s passion for 20 years, while pursuing his career as a Developmental Biologist. His primary goal is the preservation and breeding of endangered species – a pursuit he has followed throughout almost every continent worldwide. Brian is the Freshwater Turtles and Tortoises Coordinator at the Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS). At Turtle Island, he enriches the team with his widespread expertise.

Gregory George
Compound Designer

The health and species-appropriate care of all animal habitats is Greg's greatest concern. Inspired and guided by his field work, he founded Gregory George Designs, which spezializes in the design and fabrication of naturalistic habitats for amphibians, reptiles, fish and small mammals for museums, zoos and nature centers. He creates accurate geological formations, sedimentation, artifacts, and natural plantings to give visitors unique insights into the natural history of the animals on display and how they interact with their environment. Greg is a board member and Secretary for the State of Georgia's Turtle Island Corporation, a nonprofit with 501(c)(3) status.

Herbert Becker
Retired

Since his early youth, Herbert has been involved in keeping and breeding various exotic turtle species. Together with Turtle Island, he works on conservation breeding projects with a focus on East-Asian-pond turtles.

Irmi Häger
Commercial Clerk

After her studies in Business Administration, Irmi Häger discovered her great love for reptiles and has been dedicated to turtles since 1995. Today, she works alongside Turtle Island on conservation breeding projects for South African tortoises and enriches the team with her practical experience.

Richard Gemel
Retired Zoologist

As a turtle keeper himself, Richard learned about their biology at an early age, particularly what it takes for a turtle to be happy. During his 20 year career as the Librarian of the herpetological collection at the Natural History Museum Vienna, he simultaneously served as the General Secretary of the Austrian Association for Herpetology. Following his turtle-esque passion, he now supports Turtle Island with scientific classifications, field herpetological and literature-based tasks.

Roland Zirbs
Employee

Ever since he was a young boy, Roland has been fascinated by fish, amphibians, birds, mammals and snakes, his steppingstone to his favorites today: the magnificent turtles. Together with Turtle Island, he supports conservation breeding projects with a major focus on Asian and American turtle species.

Till Ipser
Retired Teacher

As a passionate swamp-wader, Till has been working with Turtle Island on offspring and breeding programs for various turtle species that have become extinct in the wild. Due to his widespread interests in many areas, he supports Turtle Island by connecting the foundation with the enterprises of Arts and Culture.

Waltraud Pauler
Retired

Together with her deceased husband Ingo, Waltraud has been caring for South American, Asian, and North American terrapins since 1971. A few years ago, she donated her turtles for conservation breeding to Turtle Island and has contributed valuably to the conservation of endangered species ever since.

Claudia Sommerhalder
IT-Administrator

Claudia is an enthusiastic turtle keeper and coordinates all of Turtle Island’s Swiss-related projects. She has an enormous knowledge about turtles and regularly cares for ill or protected turtles at her home, returning them to health.

Rupali Ghosh
Biologist

Throughout her life, Rupali has worked closely with experts, indigenous tribes, and animal welfare organizations to preserve and protect animals. Currently, she works as a Biologist in Northwest India and coordinates Turtle Island’s species protection projects in South Asia as an employee at Schönbrunn Zoo.

Turtle
Turtle Island
A project to conserve
the most threatened
vertebrate animals
on our planet
office@turtle-island.at
Turtle Island Newsletter
© Turtle Island 2022

DE / EN
© Turtle Island 2022

Unser Team

Gemeinsam mit unserem internationalen Netzwerk von Partnerorganisationen und Unterstützern setzen wir uns für die Rettung von bedrohten Schildkrötenarten ein. Unser Team besteht aus einer Vielzahl von Experten, motivierten und engagierten Tierpflegern und ehrenamtlichen Helfern, die sich mit allen Themen rund um die Erhaltung und den Schutz bedrohter Schildkröten beschäftigen.

GESCHÄFTSFÜHRUNG I MANAGEMENT

Mag. Dr. Peter Praschag
Gründer Turtle Island, Präsidium

Nach seinem Abschluss in Biologie und Zoologie gründete Peter zusammen mit seinem Vater Reiner die Schutz- und Aufzuchtstation Turtle Island. Neben seinen Aufgaben als Schildkrötenbiologe und Artenschützer unterstützt er als wissenschaftlicher Berater verschiedene ORF UNIVERSUM TV-Produktionen. Außerdem ist er allgemein beeideter und gerichtlich zertifizierter Sachverständiger für Biologie (Erhaltung und Zucht von Zootieren, Arten- und Tierschutz) und Mitglied der Freshwater Turtle and Tortoise Specialist Group/IUCN, des Field Conservation Committee und wissenschaftlicher Berater der Turtle Survival Alliance (TSA). Peter ist Zuchtbuchführer aller 6 Batagur-Flussschildkrötenarten und der Amboina-Scharnierschildkröte der EAZA (European Association of Zoos and Aquaria). Er ist Vizepräsident der Turtle Island Corporation, einer in den USA ansässigen gemeinnützigen Organisation mit dem Status 501(c)(3).

DI Dr. Reiner Praschag
Gründer Turtle Island, Präsidium

Reiner gilt als einer der Pioniere der Schildkrötenhaltung und -zucht und beschäftigt sich mit diesem Thema seit den 1960er Jahren. Reiner und sein Sohn Peter machten ihr Familienhobby zum Beruf, als sie die Turtle Island Foundation ins Leben riefen. Als allgemein beeideter und gerichtlich zertifizierter Sachverständiger für Hochbau und Zoologie sowie als CITES-Sachverständiger für Artenschutz gelang es ihm innerhalb von 40 Jahren eine der größten und wichtigsten Schildkrötensammlungen weltweit mit mehr als 240 verschiedenen Arten aufzubauen. Viele dieser Arten sind in freier Wildbahn vom Aussterben bedroht und sind auf ihr Leben in Erhaltungszuchtstationen wie Turtle Island angewiesen, um ihr Überleben auf dem Planeten zu sichern.

Dr. Shannon DiRuzzo
Tierärztin, Präsidium

Nachdem sie über 10 Jahre lang als Kleintier- und Zootierärztin in Alaska gearbeitet hatte, kam Shannon 2011 zu Turtle Island. Seitdem arbeitet Shannon für Turtle Island und verschiedene andere internationale Projekte zum Schutz der Schildkröten. Bei diesen Tätigkeiten lassen sich Shannons Schwerpunkte Tiermedizin und Natur- und Artenschutzagenden ideal verbinden und sie unterstützen ihr lebenslanges Engagement für den Schutz und das Wohlergehen aller Tiere. Außerdem arbeitet sie als Naturschutzbiologin für Solarenergie-Unternehmen und auf einer militärischen Ausbildungsbasis in Kalifornien und Nevada.  2018 gründete sie die "Turtle Island Corporation", eine gemeinnützige Organisation mit Sitz in den USA und dem Status 501(c)(3), deren Präsidentin sie auch ist. Shannon ist Mitglied der American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Amphibien- und Reptilienkrankheiten (AGARK) und der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Herpetologie und Terrarienkunde (DGHT).

Torsten Blanck
Präsidium

Erhaltungszucht, biologische Klassifizierung und Feldstudien in Ostasien mit Schwerpunkt auf der stark gefährdeten Asiatischen Scharnierschildkröten der Gattung Cuora bilden die Grundlage von Torstens Studien. Er hat alle Arten der ostasiatischen Scharnierschildkröten studiert. Zurzeit beschäftigt er sich intensiv mit der Erforschung der Cuora zhoui, die 1990 anerkannt, aber nie in freier Wildbahn beobachtet wurde. Torsten hat das arten- und individuenreichste Cuora Schutzzentrum der westlichen Welt aufgebaut und gilt als führender Experte dieser hoch bedrohten Schildkrötengattung.  Torsten unterhält das ESF (European Studbook Foundation) Zuchtregister für Cuora trifasciata und Cuora cyclornata und ist außerdem Mitglied der IUCN TFTSG, der Turtle Survival Alliance (Field Conservation Committee) und anderer Schildkrötenorganisationen.

Dr. Alexander Olek
Präsidium

Der Biochemiker und Mathematiker ist Patentinhaber und Autor verschiedener hochrangiger wissenschaftlicher Veröffentlichungen und wurde 2001 zum Unternehmer des Jahres ernannt. Derzeit arbeitet er an einem innovativen Konzept, das es ihm ermöglicht, mit nur einem Test die genetischen Fingerabdrücke aller höheren Lebewesen zu erkennen. Mit diesem Test kann unter anderem festgestellt werden, ob die Tiere wild oder in Gefangenschaft gezüchtet wurden. Durch seine Zusammenarbeit mit Turtle Island stellt er technische und wissenschaftliche Fähigkeiten sowie allgemeines Wissen zur Verfügung. Alexander ist Vorstandsmitglied der Turtle Island Corporation, einer in den USA ansässigen gemeinnützigen Organisation mit dem Status 501(c)(3).

Mag. (FH) Anita Pfeffinger
Marketing-Management

Anita gehört seit 2021 zum Turtle Island Team und kümmert sich neben Marketing- und PR Agenden um alle organisatorischen, finanztechnischen und personellen Fragestellungen. Sie hat internationales Marketing mit dem Schwerpunkt Medien- und Eventmanagement studiert und kennt Peter seit fast 20 Jahren aus ihrer langjährigen Tätigkeit als Filmproduktionsleiterin für internationale blue-chip UNIVERSUM TV-Dokumentationen.  

Tierpflege

Madeleine Wheatley, MSc
Zoologin, Zuchtbuchführerin, Leitende Tierpflegerin

Mit einem Bachelor in Zoologie und einem Master in Naturschutzbiologie hat Maddy eine große Leidenschaft für den Schutz von Wildtieren. Sie hat bereits ein Praktikum im Zoo Antwerpen (Centre for Research and Conservation) absolviert und nach einem dreimonatigen Forschungsaufenthalt in Tansania ihre Masterarbeit über "Raumökologie afrikanischer Nagetiere" abgeschlossen. Sie hat große Freude an der Feldarbeit und hatte bereits mehrmals die Gelegenheit, verschiedene Projekte in ganz Europa und Asien durchzuführen. Seit 2020 gehört sie zum Stammteam von Turtle Island und leistet mit ihrem Fachwissen einen wertvollen Beitrag zum Fortbestand bedrohter Arten, besonders in der Zusammenarbeit mit dem internationalen interdisziplinären Turtle Island Team. Gemeinsam mit Peter Praschag führt Maddy die Zuchtbücher von Turtle Island.

Lisa Marschnig
Tierpflegerin

Bereits im Alter von 11 Jahren hat Lisa über Turtle Island-Gründer Peter Praschag ihre erste Schildkröte, eine männliche Griechische Landschildkröte, bekommen. Mittlerweile hat sie die Ausbildung zur Tierpflegerin bei Turtle Island erfolgreich abgeschlossen und kümmert sich mit viel Sorgfalt tagtäglich um die wundervollen Tiere.

Jasmin Ben Ali
Lehrling Tierpflege

Seit ihrem 12. Lebensjahr engagiert sich Jasmin aktiv für Tier- und Artenschutz und hat einen Großteil ihrer Freizeit als ehrenamtliche Helferin Tierheimen verbracht. Seit Dezember 2021 macht sie bei Turtle Island eine Lehre zur Tierpflegerin.

Christina Weisser
Tierpflegerin

Neben ihrer geringfügigen Tätigkeit als Tierpflegerin studiert Christina Biologie an der Karl-Franzens-Universität. Eine ihrer Lieblingsaufgaben ist das Füttern der Baby Schildkröten und sich noch mehr Wissen über das Brutverhalten der Erwachsenen anzueignen.

Barbara Ranner
Tierpflegerin

Neben ihrem Biologie-Studium übernimmt Barbara bei Turtle Island verschiedene tierpflegerische Tätigkeiten. Dabei legt sie besonders viel Wert darauf, durch ihre Arbeit einen Beitrag zum Schutz und Erhalt gefährdeter Arten leisten zu können.

Elena Gaumberger
Tierpflegerin

Elena studiert Biologie an der KF Universität Graz. Von Kindheit an hat sie ein besonderes Gespür für Wild- und Haustiere und sie liebt es mit verschiedenen Tierarten zu arbeiten. Bei ihrer Tätigkeit bei Turtle Island schätze sie sehr, dass sie in allen Bereichen mitarbeiten kann und dass sie sich dadurch neues und umfangreiches Wissen aneignen kann.

FREIWILLIGE

Rainer Göllner
Ehrenamtlicher Helfer, Koordinator für Bauwirtschaft

Fasziniert von ihrer ruhigen, ausgeglichenen Ausstrahlung und der gleichzeitigen Ausdauer und Kraft von Schildkröten, setzt sich Rainer mit allen denkbaren Werkzeugen in seiner Freizeit für die besonderen Tiere ein. aller Er ist als Koordinator und Organisator für Bauwirtschaft hauptverantwortlich für alle Bau-, Umbau- und Renovierungsarbeiten bei Turtle Island.

Franz Hödl
Ehrenamtlicher Helfer

Franz war bis zu seiner Pensionierung im Botanischen Garten in Graz tätig und wurde hier fast universal eingesetzt. Da seiner Natur ein Ruhestand zuwider ist, hat er bei Turtle Island alle technischen Aufgaben übernommen und wurde zum Spezialisten für Filtration, Pumptechnik und Heizung.

Monika Magnes-Reiser
Ehrenamtliche Helferin

Monika wurde auf Turtle Island aufmerksam, als sie ein liebevolles neues Zuhause für ihre Rotwangenschmuck-Schildkröte Paul suchte. Seit ihrer Pensionierung hilft Monika ehrenamtlich überall dort, wo sie gebraucht wird, sei es beim Füttern oder bei der Futtervorbereitung. Frei nach dem Motto: Es gibt immer viel zu tun.

Andrea Bäckenberger
Ehrenamtliche Helferin

Mit großem Interesse für Artenschutz kam Andrea über ein Praktikum zu Turtle Island und ist seitdem ehrenamtlich eine große Hilfe in sämtlichen Belangen und kümmert sich Tag ein, Tag aus um das Wohlbefinden nicht nur unserer Schildkröten, sondern auch der Echsen und der Futtertierzucht.

Susanne Muhry
Ehrenamtliche Helferin

Neben ihrem Job als Bankangestellte ist Susanne ehrenamtlich bei Turtle Island tätig. Sie genießt die Abwechslung und freut sich, dass sie mit ihrer Arbeit einen kleinen Teil zur Erhaltung der Artenvielfalt beitragen kann.

INTERNATIONALE PROJEKTE

Ph.D. Brian D.Horne
Zoologe

Schildkröten aller Art sind seit 20 Jahren Brians Leidenschaft, während er seine Karriere als Entwicklungsbiologe verfolgt. Sein vorrangiges Ziel ist die Erhaltung und Zucht gefährdeter Arten, eine Aufgabe, die er auf fast allen Kontinenten weltweit verfolgt hat. Einige Jahre hatte Brian die Position des Co-Vorsitzenden der Land- und Süßwasserschildkröten Spezialisten Gruppe (FTTSG) der IUCN inne. Brian ist der Koordinator für Süßwasserschildkröten und Landschildkröten bei der Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS). Bei Turtle Island bereichert er das Team mit seinem umfassenden Fachwissen.

Gregory George
Gehege-Designer

Die Gesundheit und artgerechte Pflege aller Lebensräume für Tiere ist Gregs größtes Anliegen. Inspiriert von seiner Feldarbeit gründete er Gregory George Designs, das sich auf die Gestaltung und Herstellung von naturnahen Lebensräumen für Amphibien, Reptilien, Fische und kleine Säugetiere für Museen, Zoos und Naturzentren spezialisiert hat. Er schafft akkurate geologische Formationen, Sedimentationen, Artefakte und natürliche Bepflanzungen, um den Besuchern einen einzigartigen Einblick in die Naturgeschichte der ausgestellten Tiere und ihre Interaktion mit ihrer Umwelt zu geben. Gregory ist Vorstandsmitglied und Sekretär der Turtle Island Corporation im Bundesstaat Georgia, einer gemeinnützigen Organisation mit dem Status 501(c)(3).

Herbert Becker
Pensionist

Seit seiner frühen Jugend beschäftigt sich Herbert mit der Haltung und Zucht verschiedener exotischer Schildkrötenarten. Zusammen mit Turtle Island arbeitet er an Erhaltungszuchtprojekten mit Schwerpunkt auf ostasiatischen Sumpfschildkröten.

Irmi Häger
Handelskauffrau

Nach ihrem Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre entdeckte Irmi Häger ihre große Liebe zu Amphibien und widmet sich seit 1995 den Schildkröten. Heute arbeitet sie an der Seite von Turtle Island an Erhaltungszuchtprojekten für südafrikanische Landschildkröten und bereichert das Team mit ihrer praktischen Erfahrung.

Richard Gemel
Pensionierter Zoologe

Schon seit Studentenzeiten galt Richards Interesse der Haltung, Pflege und später der Systematik und Taxonomie aller Schildkröten dieser Erde. Während seiner 20jährigen Karriere als Bibliothekar der herpetologischen Sammlung am Naturhistorischen Museum Wien war er gleichzeitig Generalsekretär der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Herpetologie. Seiner schildkrötenähnlichen Leidenschaft folgend, unterstützt er nun Turtle Island mit wissenschaftlichen Klassifizierungen, herpetologischen Feldarbeiten und literaturbasierten Aufgaben.

Roland Zirbs
Angestellter

Seit seiner frühesten Kindheit ist Roland fasziniert von Tieren. Daran hat sich auch nach fünf Jahrzehnten wenig geändert: Fische und Amphibien, Vögel, Säugern und Schlangen waren sozusagen sein Sprungbrett zu seinen heutigen Favoriten, den Schildkröten. Gemeinsam mit Turtle Island arbeitet er an Erhaltungszuchtprojekten mit dem Schwerpunkt auf asiatischen amerikanische Schildkrötenarten.

Till Ipser
Pensionierter Lehrer

Tills Leidenschaft entspringt persönlichen Begegnungen mit dem Archaischen, einem Blick in ein Schildkrötenauge oder der Anblick, wenn Nachzuchten derselben aus dem Ei schlüpfen. Till spezialisierte sich auf Nachzucht- und Zuchtprogramme für verschiedene Schildkrötenarten, die in freier Wildbahn ausgestorben sind. Weitere Schwerpunkt seiner Tätigkeit bilden einheimische Tierarten und Riesensalamander. Aufgrund seiner weitreichenden Interessen in vielen Bereichen unterstützt er Turtle Island, indem er die Organisation mit den Unternehmen für Kunst und Kultur verbindet.

Waltraud Pauler
Pensionistin

Gemeinsam mit ihrem verstorbenen Ehemann Ingo pflegt Waltraud seit 1971 südamerikanische, asiatische und nordamerikanische Landschildkröten. Vor einigen Jahren hat sie ihre Schildkröten für die Erhaltungszucht an Turtle Island gespendet und leistet seither einen wertvollen Beitrag zur Erhaltung bedrohter Arten.

Claudia Sommerhalder
IT-Projektleiterin

Claudia ist eine begeisterte Schildkrötenpflegerin und koordiniert alle Projekte von Turtle Island in der Schweiz. Sie verfügt über beste Kontakte, baut Brücken immer im Sinne der Tiere und pflegt regelmäßig kranke oder geschützte Schildkröten bei sich zu Hause, um sie wieder gesund zu machen.

Rupali Ghosh
Biologin

Ihr ganzes Leben lang hat Rupali eng mit Experten, indigenen Stämmen und Tierschutzorganisationen zusammengearbeitet, um Tiere zu erhalten und zu schützen. Derzeit arbeitet sie als Biologin im Nordwesten Indiens und koordiniert als Mitarbeiterin im Tiergarten Schönbrunn die Artenschutzprojekte von Turtle Island in Südasien.

Turtle
Turtle Island
Ein Projekt zur Erhaltung
der am meisten bedrohten
Wirbeltiere
auf unserem Planeten
office@turtle-island.at
Turtle Island Newsletter
© Turtle Island 2022