EN / DE
© Turtle Island 2022

Our cooperations around the globe

Tiergarten Schönbrunn

Schönbrunn Zoo, founded by the Habsburgs in 1752, is the oldest zoo in the world still in existence, and has been awarded "Best Zoo in Europe" five times in a row.

Together with Schönbrunn Zoo, Turtle Island runs two breeding facilities for the Northern River Terrapin (Batagur baska) in Bangladesh.

Open link
Allwetterzoo Münster
Allwetterzoo Münster

Among other things, the Allwetterzoo Münster is home to the International Center for Turtle Conservation (IZS). This center is dedicated to the conservation breeding of turtles threatened with extinction and manages the studbook for several endangered turtle species within the European Association of Zoos and Aquaria (EAZA).

Turtle Island is in constant exchange with the IZS team and we run joint breeding projects. Furthermore, some turtles from Münster have found a new home at Turtle Island in Graz.

Open link
Nature and Life Foundation

The Prokriti O Jibon Foundation (Nature and Life Foundation) is an organization devoted to conservation of biological diversity and sustainable development in Bangladesh. The policy, goal, objectives and activities of the foundation are centered around the vision and mission of the UN Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) and the National Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan (NBSAP) of Bangladesh. The organisation runs its own TV channel, called Channel i.

The Nature and Life Foundation is the official partner of the Batagur baska project, which was launched by Schönbrunn Zoo and Turtle Island in 2010.

Open link
Prague Zoo

Prague Zoo is one of the most beautiful zoos in the world thanks to its unique location. An exceptional and ambitious team of managers, curators and keepers is responsible for numerous unique breeding successes of endangered animal species.

Together with Turtle Island, Prague Zoo manages the EAZA studbooks for all six Batagur species and Cuora amboinensis (Malayan Box Turtle).

Open link
TSA

The Turtle Survival Alliance (TSA) is a global partnership, focusing on species that are at high risk of extinction, and works in turtle diversity hotspots around the world. Widely recognized as a global catalyst for turtle conservation based on its reputation for swift and decisive action, the TSA has made a bold commitment to zero turtle extinctions in the 21st Century.

The TSA is Turtle Island's official partner in our international species conservation and reintroduction projects.

Open link
European Association of zoos and aquaria

Formed in 1992, European Association of Zoos and Aquaria's (EAZA) mission is to facilitate cooperation within the European zoo and aquarium community towards the goals of education, research and conservation. They believe that zoos and aquaria have a strong role to play in protecting nature and wildlife both at our institutions and out in the field.

Turtle Island works very closely with EAZA and among others, in cooperation with Prague Zoo, maintains the studbooks for all six Batagur species and Cuora amboinensis (Malayan Box Turtle).

Open link
Reptilienauffangstation

The Auffangstation für Reptilien, München e.V., managed by Markus Baur, is a non-profit association founded in 2001. Markus is a renowned reptile veterinaran specialist whom we frequently consult for his advice. With over 1,200 rescued and re-homed animals per year, the association is Germany's largest sanctuary for exotic pets.

Turtle Island is in constant exchange with the association and we have also adopted some shelter animals from Munich.

Open link
Ableitner

The family-run goldsmith manufactory Ableitner was founded in 1977 and has since produced high-quality jewelry. Every step of the process, from the first draft to the finishing touches, happens in Lieboch near Graz (Austria).

In a special partnership with Turtle Island, the team, under the leadership of master goldsmith Andreas Ableitner, wants to express their appreciation and perception of nature in an artistic way. Moreover, by choosing to wear one of the Turtle Island necklaces, jewelry lovers also become ambassadors for the cause of Turtle Island.

Open link
Turtle
Turtle Island
A project to conserve
the most threatened
vertebrate animals
on our planet
office@turtle-island.at
Turtle Island Newsletter
© Turtle Island 2022

DE / EN
© Turtle Island 2022

Unsere Kooperationen rund um den Globus

Tiergarten Schönbrunn

Der Tiergarten Schönbrunn wurde 1752 von den Habsburgern gegründet und ist der älteste, noch bestehende Zoo der Welt und wurde bereits fünf Mal in Folge als „Bester Zoo Europas“ ausgezeichnet.

Gemeinsam mit dem Tiergarten Schönbrunn betreibt Turtle Island zwei Zuchtstationen für die Nördliche Batagur-Flussschildkröte (Batagur baska) in Bangladesch.

Zur Seite
Allwetterzoo Münster
Allwetterzoo Münster

Der Allwetterzoo Münster beherbergt unter anderem das Internationale Zentrum für Schildkrötenschutz (IZS). Dieses Zentrum widmet sich der Erhaltungszucht von vom Aussterben bedrohten Schildkröten und ist Zuchtbuchführer für mehrere gefährdete Schildkrötenarten innerhalb der EAZA (European Association of Zoos and Aquaria).

Turtle Island steht in ständigem Austausch mit dem IZS-Team und wir führen gemeinsame Zuchtprojekte durch. Außerdem haben einige Schildkröten aus Münster bei Turtle Island in Graz ein neues Zuhause gefunden.

Zur Seite
Nature and Life Foundation

Die Prokriti O Jibon Foundation (Nature and Life Foundation) ist eine Organisation, die sich für die Erhaltung der biologischen Vielfalt und der nachhaltigen Entwicklung in Bangladesch einsetzt. Die Politik, die Ziele und die Aktivitäten der Stiftung orientieren sich an der Vision und dem Auftrag der UN Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) und dem National Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan (NBSAP) von Bangladesch. Die Organisation betreibt einen eigenen TV-Kanal, Channel i.

Die Nature and Life Foundation ist offizieller Partner des Batagur baska Projekts, das 2010 vom Tiergarten Schönbrunn und Turtle Island ins Leben gerufen wurde.

Zur Seite
Prague Zoo

Der Prager Zoo ist dank seiner einzigartigen Lage einer der schönsten Zoos der Welt. Ein außergewöhnlich ehrgeiziges Team von Managern, Kuratoren und Tierpflegern ist für zahlreiche einzigartige Zuchterfolge von gefährdeten Tierarten verantwortlich.

Gemeinsam mit Turtle Island führt der Prager Zoo die EAZA-Zuchtbücher für alle sechs Batagur-Arten und Cuora amboinensis (Amboina-Scharnierschildkröte).

Zur Seite
TSA

Die TSA (Turtle Survival Alliance) ist eine globale Partnerschaft, die sich auf die vom Aussterben bedrohten Arten konzentriert und an den Hotspots der Schildkrötenvielfalt auf der ganzen Welt arbeitet. Die TSA ist weithin als globaler Katalysator für den Schutz der Schildkröten anerkannt, da sie für ihr schnelles und entschlossenes Handeln bekannt ist. Sie hat sich kühn dazu verpflichtet, das Aussterben von Schildkröten im 21. Jahrhundert zu verhindern.

Die TSA ist offizieller Partner von Turtle Island bei unseren internationalen Artenschutz- und Wiederansiedelungsprojekten.

Zur Seite
European Association of zoos and aquaria

Die 1992 gegründete EAZA (European Association of Zoos and Aquaria) hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der europäischen Zoo- und Aquariengemeinschaft im Hinblick auf die Ziele Bildung, Forschung und Naturschutz zu fördern. Die EAZA ist davon überzeugt, dass Zoos und Aquarien eine wichtige Rolle beim Schutz der Natur und der Wildtiere spielen, sowohl in Einrichtungen als auch in der freien Natur.

Turtle Island arbeitet sehr eng mit der EAZA zusammen, und führt unter anderem - in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Zoo Prag - die Zuchtbücher für alle sechs Batagur-Arten und Cuora amboinensis (Amboina Scharnierschildkröte).

Zur Seite
Reptilienauffangstation

Die Auffangstation für Reptilien, München e.V. - geleitet von Markus Baur - ist ein 2001 gegründeter gemeinnütziger Verein. Markus ist ein renommierter Reptilientierarzt, den wir häufig um Rat fragen. Mit über 1.200 geretteten und vermittelten Tieren pro Jahr ist der Verein die größte Auffangstation für exotische Heimtiere in Deutschland.

Turtle Island steht in ständigem Austausch mit dem Verein und wir haben auch schon einige Tiere aus dem Münchner Tierheim adoptiert.

Zur Seite
Ableitner

Die familiengeführte Goldschmiedemanufaktur Ableitner wurde 1977 gegründet und fertigt hochwertige Schmuckstücke vom ersten Entwurf bis zum letzten Schliff vollständig in Lieboch bei Graz (Steiermark).

Mit den Schmuckstücken, die in Kooperation mit Turtle Island entstehen, bringt das Team unter der Führung von Goldschmiedemeister Andreas Ableitner einerseits die Wertschätzung und Wahrnehmung der Natur auf künstlerische Weise zum Ausdruck, andererseits werden auch Schmuckliebhaber:innen durch das Tragen der Schmuckstücke zu Botschafter:innen für Turtle Island.

Zur Seite
Turtle
Turtle Island
Ein Projekt zur Erhaltung
der am meisten bedrohten
Wirbeltiere
auf unserem Planeten
office@turtle-island.at
Turtle Island Newsletter
© Turtle Island 2022